Long-ing for the Shot

I’ve been spending a lot of quality time with my new Tamron SP AF90mm F/2.8 Di lately, getting to know its quirks, and still being blown away by its sharpness; it’s far and away she sharpest lens I own, with the least linear distortion. I went walking at lunch yesterday and found mostly architectural subjects, such as the Krannert Center:

Total Serialization

And Morrill Hall:

Organon

I love the way the stacks and the top section of the building suggest organ pipes in a windchest; it is fitting that the Greek word όργανον refers both to a musical instrument and to the intellectual instruments which enable science. I also found that some wags had been at work on the Music Building’s emergency generator:

Rivalries

These were all fun to take, although it’s long past time for me to make an actual macro image with my macro lens. With luck, that will be the subject of my next post.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.