Ektar 100 – Whimsical Things

With my Portra finished, it was time to try Ektar 100. Google and the Flickr groups for its users suggested that Ektar is much more finicky and should be metered like slide film, that it has love-it-or-hate-it-color, and that its strong reds make it less desirable for people, particularly Zone VI people.

Well, I like saturated color sometimes, my F100’s meter appears to be working just fine, and I don’t mind using my lens on inanimate subjects. Let’s go.

Vacation Spot

First up was my neighbor’s front yard. One might get the impression that he doesn’t like Illinois winters, and one would be right: he’s originally from New Mexico.

Good color, punchy but not cartoonish, and lovely tones on an overcast day.

Autumn Blues

Yellow/blue is one of my favorite color combinations, and I couldn’t resist this leaf on the hood of my car. Maybe I could have placed focus better, but again I have no complaints about the film: colors are great, grain is great, tones are great.

Askew

I was down to my last couple of frames when I went to get some coffee at the little café in the CS building. I took this one none too soon; about 5 seconds later, a barista had to grab one of the cups on the left and so destroyed this little bit of whimsical skewness.

The light here is a bizarre mix of incandescent and LEDs that tend towards daylight, with some daylight fill from a curtain window behind and left. Ektar appears to have taken the mix of color temperatures in stride, and certainly the lab that scanned my film did a good job correcting color.

So far so good. What else can Ektar do? Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

