Atwood

Filling Up

We stopped at this gas station in Atwood, CO early on our return trip so my older son could use the restroom. I waited outside while my wife took him in, and as I watched the road I thought “Wouldn’t it be nice if a truck came by?” Mere moments later, this Wal-Mart rig obliged.

As a child, I went through several inflatable Sinclair dinosaurs. Most summers we’d take a trip somewhere that had a Sinclair station, and I’d insist on getting a shiny new dinosaur because I’d loved the previous one to death. In the hope of perpetuating the tradition, I asked my wife to see if this station had any, and behold! she emerged with two of them. They’re not as big as the ones I played with, but my boys were thrilled, which is good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

