Sprague Lake

Untitled

I have wanted to visit Rocky Mountain National Park since I was a child. When I was 13 my parents took me to Denver, and we had time for everything except the park. It seemed incredibly unfair; we made it to Mount Rainier on a trip to Seattle, so why couldn’t we do the shorter drive from Denver to RMNP? Twenty years later, I was determined to finally get there, and I succeeded.

We started out with one of the family-friendly trails, which circles Sprague Lake on the eastern side of the park. It was a nice day, not too hot, with a pleasing mix of clouds and sun.

Mountain Cheese

I found myself alternating cameras throughout the day. For this walk, the Fuji X100 was perfect, for two reasons: 1) it didn’t encumber me if I had to pick my kids up, and 2) the leaf shutter and fill flash made people shots a snap, as you see above.

But there was much, much more to see down the road….

One thought on “Sprague Lake

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Curve | Nicholas Haggin Photography

Leave a Reply

