Willowy Lava

On the same trip to the Chicago ‘burbs where I enjoyed a bit of planespotting, we took the kids to play one afternoon at a connected chain of parks along Salt Creek in Rolling Meadows. I was given a furlough to split off and take pictures, and happened upon a gnarled old willow tree with some really interesting stuff going on in its bark.

Untitled

There’s something here that reminds me of a pāhoehoe flow overwhelming a higher dike or ridge of rock. I’m not entirely satisfied with my control of depth-of-field in this image, and I hope to go back sometime and try again…maybe with a rented tilt-shift lens?

Leave a Reply

