Shade On The Corn

After a one-month gap in posts last July, I went for a topical post rather than a retrospective of what I had shot that month, which means one of my favorite pictures from last year was left unblogged:

Untitled

We had driven my wife over to Smith Memorial Hall so she could practice while I took the boys on a stroll, and we had barely gone one block before I saw this, the best subject I had for the rest of the walk. (I took other pictures, but none I liked as well.) The corn in front is planted in the Morrow Plots, the oldest experimental cornfield in the Western Hemisphere, which is also the subject of a funny song by The Other Guys from which I derived the title of this post.

This picture does not exhaust the meaning of the place where I live, but it captures a unique part of it: without the intersection between agriculture and learning which the University provides, Champaign-Urbana would be an entirely different place.

Leave a Reply

