Drinking Remembrance

I wanted to scan and publish a picture of my dad when he was in the Air Force as my tribute for Memorial Day, but that was impossible for technical reasons. Instead, here’s a drink I raised this evening to my dad, my great-uncle, and everyone else who has served the United States in uniform:

Untitled

The drink is my variant of one of the few decent blue tropicals: tequila, lime, orgeat, maraschino, Cointreau, and a drop of blue food dye. The light is an interesting mix I’ve never tried before: tungsten ambient, with an ungelled flash held by my wife to make the glass glow a little bit, processed with tungsten white balance. The ungelled flash was a deliberate choice, as I knew the tungsten white balance would render it bluish — perfect for emphasizing the color of the cocktail.

Leave a Reply

