Wibbly-Wobbly Lightey-Whitey

A few Christmases back, we hung a string of lights on our mantelpiece, and we liked the effect so much that we left it up. (They’re not Christmas lights, they’re mood lights. 🙂 ) My mind quickly turned to thoughts of long-exposure camera-in-motion photographs. I took an evening to experiment, and out of 15 exposures, one was clearly superior to the others:

Attractor

A friend subsequently challenged me to ride through the U of I campus with my camera set for a long exposure. It took some time to find the right opportunity, but when it came I was driving and we were not on campus. The idea was still a good idea, though, and once I explained it and prepared the camera, my wife was game to help out:

Auto Abstract 1

This next one got high marks from a friend who is a graphic designer and a good photographer in her own right:

Auto Abstract 2

First and (so far) only joint photographic project I’ve undertaken. Alicia, you were fabulous; I may have set up the camera but you chose where to point it, and you chose well.

All the images above were taken in 2010. For the next couple of years I noodled around from time to time with long exposures, not really trying and certainly not producing anything of value, until my wife was driving me home from work one very gloomy afternoon last fall:

Continuum

After that little sortie into hyperspace I don’t know that I have much left to say with camera-in-motion exposures, but I’ll not say “never again.” Whenever I do, it always comes back to haunt me.

Leave a Reply

