Shoot Your Mom

For Mother’s Day, here’s my mom:

Mom Noir

I was testing a two-strobe setup here: one under the shade of the lamp to my mom’s right, another through an umbrella on-axis. It did not work the way I intended it to, but it turned out better than my original conception, so I’m not going to quibble. It was my mom’s idea to mime a cigarette and look all sophisticated with two stuffed cows on her lap, which created the truest portrait of her I’ve ever seen.

Happy Mother’s Day to my mom, my wife, and all you who are, even in the most tangential way, mothers to someone.

Leave a Reply

