Seizing the Sunset

Haven’t had much time for non-family photography lately. I usually slow down, photographically speaking, in the winter; I don’t want to lug my gear out in the cold, don’t want to deal with proper condensation prevention, don’t want to fumble with my gloves, etc. Perhaps the inertia needs a little shaking-up, so today I present an example of what happens when you resist the urge to let a beautiful scene pass by.

To quote Galen Rowell via Thom Hogan:

You only get one sunrise and one sunset a day and you only get so many days on the planet. A good photographer does the math and doesn’t waste either.

I took this picture while in attendance at the fall festival at the church where my wife works. I had brought my gear along, anticipating opportunity, but it would have been horribly rude to spend the entire dinner hour sitting out by the tracks waiting for the best shot to come along. I had made up my mind to ignore the world outside when I looked through the window and saw that the sunset was something special. My wife graciously gave me a brief furlough, and I returned with this.

Straining to get the shot can spoil your ability to sit back and enjoy a beautiful sunset, but this time it didn’t, and I’m glad of it.

Leave a Reply

