Frosty Fun

It finally snowed (and stuck around) here, and my son John wanted to build a snowman. So we did.

Me And My Shadow

John was not in a mood to pose; I grabbed this as fast as I could before he ran away. Mostly available light, although I threw in a speedlight + umbrella on the right to fill the shadows. I chose my Nikon D70 for its higher flash sync speed of 1/500 second, which is great for controlling ambient outdoors while allowing enough aperture to use the speedlight on 1/4 or 1/8 power. 1/500 is not a hard limit, though; a little electrical tape in the right places lets you can sync up to the camera’s highest shutter speed, although at 1/2000 and higher you can lose some of the flash pulse.

Leave a Reply

